



STOP/STAR Class Information

Fremont County has partnered with the National Safety Council – Nebraska Chapter (NSC) to provide four-hour and eight-hour courses that can be completed to dismiss your traffic violation if you meet certain eligibility criteria. No certificates from defensive driving courses provided by other organizations will be recognized for this program.

Eligibility for this program must be determined by the Fremont County Attorney's Office *prior* to taking the class. Please complete the application on the County Attorney website.

Classes must be completed no later than 7 days before your scheduled court date.

Eligibility

You are <u>not</u> eligible for STOP/STAR Class if:

- 1. You have taken a STOP/STAR class within the last three years from the date of the citation.
- 2. You have a Commercial Driver's License, even if the violation happened in a personal or private vehicle.

You may not be eligible, but may still apply for STOP/STAR Class if:

- 1. Your violation is not included in the list below.
- 2. There are unique circumstances of your violation (example: an injury accident)

Courses

Qualifying courses currently offered by the NSC include:

- 1. STOP Four-hour Defensive Driving Course
- 2. STOP Online Four-hour Defensive Driving Course
- 3. STAR Eight-hour in-person Defensive Driving Course





Four-hour Course Eligible Violations

Iowa Code	Violation
321.285	Speeding (1-20 over)
321.285	Speeding (Construction Zone 1-10 mph over limit)
321.285	Speeding (School Zone 1-10 mph over limit)
321.256	Failure to Obey Traffic Control Device
321.322(1)	Failure to Obey Stop Sign/Yield Right-of-Way
321.307	Following Too Close
321.445	Failure to Use Seat Belts - Adult
321.297	Drive on Wrong Side of Two-Way Highway
321.277A	Careless Driving
321.276	Use of Electronic Communication Device while Driving

Eight-hour Course Eligible Violations

Iowa Code	Violation
321.288(1)	Failure to Maintain Control
321.340	Drive In or Through Safety Zone
321.322(1)	Failure to Obey Stop Sign/Yield Right-of-Way
321.277	Reckless Driving
321.285	Speeding (20+ mph over limit)
321.285	Speeding (Construction Zone 10+ mph over limit)
321.285	Speeding (School Zone 10+ mph over limit)

** Eligibility does not mean automatic acceptance **

Court Costs

NSC-Nebraska will pay your court costs from your registration fee, but it is ultimately your own responsibility to ensure that court costs are paid on time. Delinquent court costs will result in license suspension or other penalties.